Is it just a dream?

It woke me- the rain, as it heavily pounded against the window pane. Cold wind rushed through the ventilators and all I could do was grab my pillow for a warmth cuddle. The blanket seemed thin, like it had turned into a sheet overnight- the darkness in my room was lurking like a demon from the underworld. Strikes of lightning lit my room and everything stood still in its shadow. I had just crawled out of a nightmare, one that involved every scene before me in this very room- the red walls felt like blood, my bed was soaked. I kept my eyes together, my breath in check, my mind occupied, and my pillow engaged.

My brain wondered, just like it often takes a stroll along the streets of my mind, heart, soul and hidden bunker- I was lonely. Reviving memories of the ones I loved, the ones that betrayed me and the ones that left me for dead. I could no longer hear the rain argue with the window pane all I could hear was my heart beat against what was, what died, and what is- a broken soul.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Is it just a dream?

Leave a Reply

