Unsent Letters.

Today as I was cleaning my room, I cam across a brown box filled with well addressed and sealed letters that never made it to the post office. In that moment, a cold feverish but awesome sensation filled my veins and my heart got heavy with wonder but not regret.

Back in time, I was a shy little fellow, bullied and mostly lonely. I was an introvert of all sorts, I sat alone in corners and thought of things people my age didn’t have to think/worry about. I hated Maths, I loved English, I was very obedient, very humble, but with a crazy mind. All this because I loved my secrecy and solitude and I feared the cane so I had to act my life through childhood, hence the unsent letters.

In most of these letters, I attacked all those who ever hurt me, describing them in so much detail, I made some look like the devil itself and others like the devil’s advocate. I literally killed all those who bullied me and in these letters, I took off time and gave them a painful death.
I couldn’t talk to anyone, because you only talked to mzee when he/she talked to you. Otherwise, all I had to do was be silent lest I make a mistake worth the whip.

Looking back, I am lowkey wondering why something so wrong felt so right.
These letters could get me into so much trouble, but I still went ahead to write, address, and seal them and it’s only after then that I felt humane again, all hatred sealed in an envelope.

How different am I from those that bullied me??

16 thoughts on “Unsent Letters.

      1. Hmmm true. But I’m sure we all just liked it because letters represented love notes. “Loveeeeee” Yours would have broken something in people. I’m sort of glad you did not send any

Leave a Reply

