Looking Back Is Vital.

For many years, looking back has been discouraged and regarded as an act of cowardice and foolishness. Many people have been convinced that looking back is actually not useful. Starting from the Bible, looking back was greatly condemned. Isaiah 43:18-19 ““Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old…”, Ecclesiastes 7:10 “Say not, “Why were the former days better than these?”
 For it is not from wisdom that you ask this. 

I beg to differ, not because I an Atheist, I am a staunch Catholic on the contrary. I beg to differ because going back to the drawing board or looking back is just as vital as looking forward. Looking back doesn’t necessarily mean moving backward, it often means analyzing a situation from a historical point of view.

Things might have been better a year ago than they are now, how you tackle the problem entirely depends on you but looking back to how you managed you business or did things a year ago might save you a fortune. The reason as to why we have side mirror on each car and a driving mirror as well.

We are often told that it’s from our mistakes that we learn, but this can only happen if you recall the mistakes that you made which involves looking back. Even memories are very vital in our day to day success, memories make one feel alive and are a symbol of growth. This is one of the reasons as to why we take pictures and buy large volume albums and partly why we take pictures and post them on Instagram. ‘Hey, that pic of us last year as we gazed at the stars speaks volumes. I can swear I saw your eyes sparkle.’

Well as looking back can be a great practice, it can also be a very dangerous practice especially for people with low self esteem and those allergic to change. Looking back shouldn’t be for the purpose of generating excuses and placing blame, but should be a fire that propels the soul, heart and mind to better.

Since looking back is a mini-habit that I have developed, I look back to 2015 and thank all those persons that stood by me and those that laughed at me, those that didn’t believe in me and those that knew what I was made of. I thank the readers of my blog and those that care to comment. I look forward to seeing you all in 2016.

Ciao

 

 

4 thoughts on “Looking Back Is Vital.

Leave a Reply

