A fight.

It is a little over a month since
Hadn’t been there in a while
And yet there I was
On this cold shivery night
I was only there because
Home was emptier and chillier
The bodies on the dance floor
My! The DJ had the party going
Music pumped through my veins
The sea of bodies was swirling hot
Intoxicated or not
Everybody was on a high
Nobody was thinking
Or so I thought

I hadn’t tasted anything this chilly,
Cold with a touch of peace rather malt ed barley.
Down my throat it slid, smoothly leaving a trail of crazy.
The dancefloor a warm place,
My head and hands propelled
To the right to the left
In unison.
Getting on a high was the mission
But nobody was thinking
And so it was.

What nobody ever tells you
Of such nights is the singles
Or seemingly single, I should say
These are the ones having the fun
Casting sly glances everywhere
Ostensibly looking for their next
What nobody ever tells you
Of such nights is the fights
Duels fought on the mezzanine
Bodies for dominance
Eyes for possession
Live brawls for…nothing.

Day 6 of UGBlogweek,  Mercy turning the tables,  my wordsmith… I like.
http://www.halfwaythereblog.com

One thought on “A fight.

Leave a Reply

