The white women

I watched from afar, as they passed me by
Laughing and talking in a tongue I couldn’t grasp,
Probably English, but not the type I could understand,
If I were close, pardon is all I could afford.
They spoke so fast all I could pick out was the first and last letters,
They slowly approached me,
Smiling and hoping I knew the slightest bit Of English,
But I was an English major in my local school,
Or so I thought.
All they wanted were directions,
To a place I didn’t even know existed.
To keep my sanity intact,
I faked being deaf and dumb.
And I watched them step away from me
With the same vigour with which they approached.

2 thoughts on “The white women

Leave a Reply

