Stretched Shoelaces

On many levels, this seriously impaxted a few emotions in my soul….

Mindless Productivity

shoelace heart

I stepped on my shoelace today
Stretched it out to the breaking point
It’s in two pieces now
A collection of loose fibers
And the cotton sheath that held them together
They used to be one
But now they’re not

It made me think of you
How you used to pull on my shoelaces
Until they were inches too long to be any use
As if you were trying to see
How far they would reach

I had to keep adding knots
To keep the laces out from underfoot
From single to double to triple to sextuple
I used to tie each shoe with a six-fold knot
Just to keep them on
It’s funny, I never noticed until now, but
I still do

You were so annoying back then
I remember that much
I just don’t remember
Why I was so annoyed
Like that time you pulled just a bit too hard
And…

View original post 157 more words

Leave a Reply

